Spiritual Ramblings From Your Favorite B-Movie Horror Actor

Blood On The Doorpost

Did I ever mention that I am unreliable and easily distracted? I mean, you didn’t actually expect me to write with any degree of consistency, did you?

I will continue my Bible commentary later … probably … hopefully. What I really want to pop in and talk about right now is Pesach (Passover) and Easter. You see, when you strip away the silly stuff like stuffed bunnies, dyed eggs, and chocolate crosses, they are really the same holiday. I’m not going to rehash them. If you don’t know what they are, you know where to look.

I’m currently preparing to leave town for a personal appearance at the Nashville Full Moon Tattoo & Horror Convention. Pesach starts the first night of the convention. I’m packing up the matzah and the Manischewitz wine. I have some interesting thoughts in my head. This weekend I’ll be remembering the two most important events in the history of our people: the Exodus from Egypt and the bodily resurrection of Yeshua (Jesus) from His tomb. I’ll be doing this at an event that celebrates many of the things many Believers find offensive: horror movies and tattoos.

But why not? As detailed in an earlier entry, I’m not a big fan of a cultural Christianity that has basically failed both the Church and society. People use “Christianity” to make themselves feel better by pointing out the flaws in others. They use “Christianity” to reinforce prejudices. They use “Christianity” to belittle and ostracize others. So, what better place for an Emissary than among those who have been wrongly hurt and pushed out by the Church? What better place to celebrate God’s goodness than in a place that is celebrating everything EXCEPT Him?

And I don’t mean I’m rocking into town and unrolling the Revival tent. I’m speaking about the condition of my heart. So many of those who claim to be Christians or Jews want to hide from the world. I don’t want to hide. I want to see the things He created. I want to be around the people He died for. I guess that is what separates me from so many in the religious world. I don’t suppose that I am any better, more moral, or better behaved than anyone else on the planet. I know that I should be, though, and that’s what separates me from the rest of humanity.

So many use the Bible as a weapon, trying to show the world what is wrong with it. We try to make others feel bad about their actions, hoping that will make them better. I use the Bible to show me what is wrong with me. You know what slaps me in the face? “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” “Sell all you have and give to the poor.” “If you look at a woman to lust after her you have committed adultery.” “Do not hate the foreigner, for you were foreigners in the land of Egypt.” “Forgive anyone who asks forgiveness of you.” Why do I find these so offensive? These are the things I keep fucking up. It’s easy not to murder someone. It’s not so easy to stop yourself from hating them.

You may be asking what any of this has to do with Pesach or Easter. It is about redemption. It is about God showing mercy on those who didn’t deserve it. I certainly don’t deserve it and that is why I am so thankful to Him. I don’t put on this pretense of being something or someone that I’m not. I’m not unlike the Israelites who did nothing but kvetch and doubt, even as God was working miracles in their midst. I’m not unlike the Emissaries, who also did nothing but kvetch and doubt, even as God stood in their midst. We should all get the celestial pimp-hand but we don’t. That’s what we deserve but God is much more gracious than that. Pesach and Easter both prove it.

We didn’t deserve to be rescued from Egypt. Yahweh did it because He made that promise to us. We didn’t deserve to be rescued from final death and sin. Yeshua did that because He made that promise to us. And that’s it. God keeps His promises and expects so little from us. That’s the point of everything: the holy days, the Scriptures, our prayers. It’s just us acknowledging the tremendous mercy and grace, the unwarranted favor, He has offered all of mankind.

So, Friday evening I’ll be neck-deep in zombies, Jasons, and laced-up Goth chicks … and I’ll be having a blast! I love all of that. But, at the same time, I will carry my thanks to Him in my heart and will be acknowledging all He has done for me. He saved me once with the blood of a lamb. He saved me forever with the blood from His veins.

I hope everyone has a very happy holiday season! All praise and glory to Yahweh, God of Israel, and His Son, Messiah Yeshua, Who was dead and is yet alive.

And please don’t forget where you hide the eggs. That shit starts to stink after about a day and a half.

Leave a Reply

